[Australia Weekly Migration News 79 issue]

Corona virus travel restrictions extended – Iran included

As published in the media, the COVID-19 travel restrictions have been extended to travellers from Iran.

The Department has updated its travel restriction advice on its website.

In addition to the restrictions on travel from mainland China, travel from Iran has also been included in the restriction from today 1 March 2020.

Foreign nationals (excluding permanent residents of Australia) who are in Iran on or after 1 March 2020, will not be allowed to enter Australia for 14 days, from the time they have left or transited through Iran.

The restrictions on travellers arriving from any part of mainland China were extended earlier this week until 7 March 2020.

The travel restrictions do not apply to the following:

Immediate family members who do not hold a permanent visa need to contact the Department of Home Affairs before travelling using Australian Immigration Enquiry Form.

Limited exemptions are available for Year 11 and 12 students who remain in China due to Australian travel restrictions (apart from those from Hubei Province) have been offered a strict pathway to resume their studies in recognition of the importance of the final two years of school. Further information is available on the process for this on the Department of Education, Skills and Employment website.

All travellers arriving from these countries will be required to self-isolate for 14 days from the time they left.

Any inquiries please contact us at marketing@lhglobal.co

Source from:


We'd love to hear from you

whether you have a question about our services, pricing or anything else, our team is ready to answer all your questions